Anthony Minghella, 54

Watched Atonement again last night with some friends. Even in a second viewing, the movie hit me like a poleaxe to the skull. A worthy adaptation of Ian McEwan’s novel. Toward the end of the movie, during the interview scene with the mature Briony (played by the superb Vanessa Redgrave) Karen turns to me and goes, “The interviewer looks familiar.” I look closely but didn’t recognize who he was. We stay for the credits, and there it was—Anthony Minghella played the interviewer. Later that night, Karen texts me, “Yo! We watched the guy! Anthony Minghella died today.” There seemed to be a certain symmetry in the fact that one of the last movies he was involved in was a drama set in the same period, with the same epic sweep as The English Patient, his most famous movie. As for me, I’ll remember him as the director of Truly, Madly, Deeply, the movie that introduced me to an actor named Alan Rickman. I saw it in college, in one of those mad hazy perfect days in the middle of finals week, when my friends and I, by some serendipitous twist of fate, had a free afternoon. So with nothing better to do, we trooped to a friend’s house for merienda and to watch a laser disc (laser disc, imagine!!!). He put this movie on. I can’t remember what happened to the rest of that afternoon, but I remember being bowled over by the movie and the lead. A few years after that, Rickman starred in Die Hard. And the rest, as they say, is still happening. Anthony Minghella, director, actor, writer, producer, will be missed.

Anthony Minghella, 54

Published by

pinxwitch

My name is Terrie. I write for a living and blog for pleasure. Some days, I get up in the morning and know precisely what kind of day it is. At other times, I get knocked over for a loop. People seem to like confiding in me. When I was younger, I thought I knew everything and can tell you what you need to do if you ask me. Now that I'm older, I realize I don't know anything. That's been my motivation for the blog and for writing. To figure out the unknown and unknowable.

Leave a Reply

