Random notes on a rainy Friday night

1. It’s now almost eight in the evening and I’m still stuck in the office. Pathetic, much? I’m just tying loose ends before calling it a week. But it’s raining so I can’t even go malling after I leave work. Grr…

2. Got an invite to a friend’s kid’s birthday party. I didn’t want to go, for a lot of reasons that I don’t want to go into here. Our circle has been avoiding this friend for a while now. We don’t talk about it much, but we all find excuses for why we can’t get together with him…Bad, I know. Which got me thinking, if you can’t be bothered to keep in touch, is the friendship worth saving? Should one just “call it quits” so to speak? And how do you break off from a friendship anyway?

3. I went to beginner’s yoga last Wednesday at Yoga Manila. May I say that my muscles are still aching? And considering Hoze, our instructor, only taught us the two basic sun positions, it’s pathetic how out of shape I am. I used to do yoga back when it wasn’t fashionable. Back then, I found the asanas a bit hard but it wasn’t torture—my limbs could support my much lighter body. This time, it was pure hell. I guess because I’m trying to force my body, which has gotten gazillion times heavier since then, into positions it doesn’t want to get into. (Sulit ang P400! As Hoze said, “Don’t worry about the sweat. You paid for it” Damn right!)  When I was attempting to do the Downward Facing Dog I could hear my back saying, “Terrie, are you sure it’s a good idea to do this? What if you can’t get up? You’ll have your ass hanging in the air while they call the paramedics!” Pride is a great motivator.

4. Interesting read for the day: This blog about the book The Forger’s Spell by Edward Dolnick about Han van Meegeren, who in the 1930s-40s forged six Vermeers that fooled everyone. Excerpt from the blog: “Of course, once the truth was known, the van Meegerens were taken down from their place of honor in museums and private collections and hidden in basements…Yet, if what we prized in a painting is its intrinsic quality, why should it matter who painted it and under what circumstances? Is the aesthetic experience any less? Must we have a validation like Vermeer before we can admire a work of art? And in that case, aren’t we behaving like the philistine tourist in a museum who has to look to see who painted a picture before deciding whether to like it or not?”

5. And speaking of blogs, but now going decidedly low-brow, over here in surreal Philippines, people in the metro woke up today and heard the shocking news: Chikatime was closed by a well-known stylist who was frequently mentioned in the infamous blog. I say it’s about time!

In the interest of full disclosure, and not to be hypocritical about it, I did read the blog in the beginning and found it funny. Gossip is always interesting, largely because there’s always some small helping of truth in them. And done right, it can even be influential. I think though there’s such a thing as responsible gossip. Sounds like an oxymoron, yes. But look at NY Post’s Page Six. It’s a gossip column at heart, but it deals with gossip like it was news. Meaning, they tried to confirm stories or at least get both sides to a story. They didn’t just publish hate mail and insults. Which was the reason I ultimately stopped visiting the blog in question. In the end, it wasn’t even delivering any chismis. It was just flinging insults left and right. And that’s no fun, especially if there’s no context to it. Sayang, done right, it could have been the start of a new—or maybe not new. Let’s say a mutated—breed of…can I even call it journalism? Well, why not, if we’re talking about the most basic def of journalism, which is delivering the news. I guess Manila will just have find another diversion. That won’t be hard to do in this crazy town.

Published by

pinxwitch

My name is Terrie. I write for a living and blog for pleasure. Some days, I get up in the morning and know precisely what kind of day it is. At other times, I get knocked over for a loop. People seem to like confiding in me. When I was younger, I thought I knew everything and can tell you what you need to do if you ask me. Now that I'm older, I realize I don't know anything. That's been my motivation for the blog and for writing. To figure out the unknown and unknowable.

Leave a Reply

