The light inside the dark: The intimacy of not knowing

And then something dark, sinuous, and heavy comes into our experience and we are reminded that we must greet the long night as we would old, tired friends. One sight, one sound, the autumn wind, a romantic break-up, or our own broken reflection on the ripples of a pond, can shift us into a new state of being. The more we expose ourselves to the darker moments in life – the unknown or what makes us uncomfortable – without the protection of our internal armor, our comforting opinions and justifications, the more we will inevitably shift into being. Our darker moments, the uncomfortable and challenging ones, become interesting – something to experience and something to examine. There is a texture – a kind of marrow for inner growth that we will miss if we shun the unknown.

I don’t think I am there yet — the inevitable shifting of being — but I know it will happen.

[An Expedition 10 crewmember captured this full moon from the International Space Station. Photo credit: NASA]

The light inside the dark: The intimacy of not knowing

Published by

pinxwitch

My name is Terrie. I write for a living and blog for pleasure. Some days, I get up in the morning and know precisely what kind of day it is. At other times, I get knocked over for a loop. People seem to like confiding in me. When I was younger, I thought I knew everything and can tell you what you need to do if you ask me. Now that I'm older, I realize I don't know anything. That's been my motivation for the blog and for writing. To figure out the unknown and unknowable.

Leave a Reply

