Life lesson I needed to relearn: Hope floats

So I was cleaning out my room, like I always do when I feel restless and down. It’s great therapy for the blues. I reached for my yellow travel wallet that I got in Hong Kong last year, and like what one does when holding a purse of a bag, I look inside and what do you know: It had something like US$300 in it! I had forgotten all about it. I knew why, of course. The cash was part of the money I had with me in Phnom Penh and things were never the same for me after that trip last year. And so like many things from that trip and the two months after that, I kind of pressed “pause” for awhile. I needed a break and felt suspended from the day to day. Until this moment.

It seemed fitting somehow that something from that trip marks a turning point this time around. The unexpected windfall brought a smile to my face, not just because it’s a welcome infusion of cash. Finding it just felt like the tide turning somehow. Like Fate reassuring me that things always have a way of working out. I feel warm between my shoulders, like there’s a reassuring hand patting me and saying, “Everything’s fine, you’ll get through this.” Storm clouds have broken, and a patch of sunshine peeped through.

 

Published by

pinxwitch

My name is Terrie. I write for a living and blog for pleasure. Some days, I get up in the morning and know precisely what kind of day it is. At other times, I get knocked over for a loop. People seem to like confiding in me. When I was younger, I thought I knew everything and can tell you what you need to do if you ask me. Now that I'm older, I realize I don't know anything. That's been my motivation for the blog and for writing. To figure out the unknown and unknowable.

One thought on “Life lesson I needed to relearn: Hope floats”

Leave a Reply

