…heroines lik…

…heroines like Matilda and Mary Lennox remind us that you don’t need to be the loudest person in the room to be strong and interesting. Quiet strength is subtle and all too easily mistaken for meekness—and any female character who even appears timid or uncertain will inevitably face criticism for playing into antiquated gender stereotypes.”

lowe_merida_post.jpg— Lindsay Lowe, “Enough Feisty Princesses: Disney Needs an Introverted Heroine,” The Atlantic. Hear, hear! This is for the quiet gals in the room, the ones who don’t make waves, keep their mouths shut, but do their own thing anyway. They are as as strong, capable, and brave as their feisty and extroverted sisters. Happy International Women’s Day!

[image borrowed from the article]

Published by

pinxwitch

My name is Terrie. I write for a living and blog for pleasure. Some days, I get up in the morning and know precisely what kind of day it is. At other times, I get knocked over for a loop. People seem to like confiding in me. When I was younger, I thought I knew everything and can tell you what you need to do if you ask me. Now that I'm older, I realize I don't know anything. That's been my motivation for the blog and for writing. To figure out the unknown and unknowable.

4 thoughts on “…heroines lik…”

  1. Yes, pinxwitch! This thought actually occurred to me some months back as I started to tire of the pixie charm of all the rom-com leads (adorable as they are)–most of the storylines I’ve been seeing portray the perky, extroverted girl as the novelty, when in fact, they’ve become the norm. Please, let’s celebrate the quiet grace and strength of the introvert once in a while!

    Like

Leave a Reply

