The six major anxieties of social media

The six major anxieties of social media

How present are you online? My friends and I were just talking about this over the weekend and it seems that more and more these days, social media is taking over our lives. We are plugged in 24/7 that it seems as if our whole lives are spent online. Let’s see. I have Facebook, Instagram, Path, Vine, Tumblr, WordPress, Google+, LinkedIn. And this list doesn’t include emails and chats. What have you got? Friends are urging me to sign up for Twitter since that’s where most of the information breaks first, Pinterest for ideas and “because it’s fun”, Flickr because, hey, we all need another channel to post our food shots in!

And now, as if it isn’t enough that we need to keep up with all of these social media apps, now comes this article on the inadequacy created by these very habits! Ironic, isn’t it? Which begs the question, why don’t we just all unplug start being face-to-face social again?

It may be too late. At a recent company meeting where we were discussing where to go for a company outing, one of the ideas floated around was to go on a cruise around some islands in Thailand. We were told there might not be wi-fi. For four days. I don’t think I was imagining it when I felt everyone reconsider the idea. Four days cut off from the Internet seems like an eternity these days.

[image borrowed from nymag.com]

Published by

pinxwitch

My name is Terrie. I write for a living and blog for pleasure. Some days, I get up in the morning and know precisely what kind of day it is. At other times, I get knocked over for a loop. People seem to like confiding in me. When I was younger, I thought I knew everything and can tell you what you need to do if you ask me. Now that I'm older, I realize I don't know anything. That's been my motivation for the blog and for writing. To figure out the unknown and unknowable.

4 thoughts on “The six major anxieties of social media”

  1. I was asking this when it still MySpace, Photobucket, Multiply, etc. I had anxiety about this already, sigh.

    Apart from all this worry is that all this activity to feed the social media beast is for the constant, relentless, unending collection of your data the Internets can make money! Of you!

    The thought of becoming a hermit has entered my mind. Many times. (But can I really live without seeing what cool stuff New York mag has regularly? 🙂 )

    Like

    1. I was stressing about this when I only had a handful of email addresses to manage! I didn’t even get on the whole Friendster, MySpace, Multiply, Photobucket bandwagon, haha!

      I don’t really mind the money-making aspect of it. I figure the moolah will get around to me somehow, sometime. My main worry here is the amount of data floating about me out there and from there, my private information. Then again, this is like closing the barn door when the horse had gotten away days ago.

      I used to be under the illusion that I could live without being plugged in, since I’m not as plugged in as some people I know (ahem, detailslater!). But I find that I don’t think I’ll survive without the cacophony of the web. Pathetic, what?

      Like

Leave a Reply

