Weekend reading: Sharp Objects

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

Natalie was buried in the family plot, next to a gravestone that already bore her parents’ names. I know the wisdom, that no parents should see their child die, that such an event is like nature spun backwards. But it’s the only way to truly keep your child. Kids grow up, they forge more potent allegiances. They find a spouse or a lover. They will not be buried with you. The Keanes, however, will remain the purest form of family. Underground.” — Sharp Objects, Gillian Flynn

On a gray afternoon on All Saints-All Souls weekend, reading about family secrets, murders, long-buried resentments bubbling to the surface, small town internecine dramas feels just about right. I got into Gillian Flynn because of last year’s best seller Gone Girl. This one, her first novel, shows the same sharp storytelling she put to good use in that book, this time focused on a small community in the grip of serial murders. From the first page onwards, Flynn manages to get a grip on the reader and doesn’t let go until the final and bitter revelation. Potent stuff. Family dramas are really their own kind of horror.

Published by

pinxwitch

My name is Terrie. I write for a living and blog for pleasure. Some days, I get up in the morning and know precisely what kind of day it is. At other times, I get knocked over for a loop. People seem to like confiding in me. When I was younger, I thought I knew everything and can tell you what you need to do if you ask me. Now that I'm older, I realize I don't know anything. That's been my motivation for the blog and for writing. To figure out the unknown and unknowable.

3 thoughts on “Weekend reading: Sharp Objects”

Leave a Reply

