The eternal boy-girl equation explained

20131205-235220.jpg

I detected instantly that she didn’t like me. It’s a fact of life that a girl can tell in a flash if another girl likes her. Feely says that there is a broken telephone connect between men and women, and we can never know which of us rang off. With a boy you never know whether he’s smitten or gagging, but with a girl you can tell in the first three seconds. Between girls there is a silent and unending flow of invisible signals, like the high-frequency wireless messages between the shore and the ships at sea, and this secret flow of dots and dashes was signaling that Mary detested me. — young Flavia Sabine de Luce, aspiring chemist and protagonist of The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie

Published by

pinxwitch

My name is Terrie. I write for a living and blog for pleasure. Some days, I get up in the morning and know precisely what kind of day it is. At other times, I get knocked over for a loop. People seem to like confiding in me. When I was younger, I thought I knew everything and can tell you what you need to do if you ask me. Now that I'm older, I realize I don't know anything. That's been my motivation for the blog and for writing. To figure out the unknown and unknowable.

3 thoughts on “The eternal boy-girl equation explained”

    1. I was intrigued too, which is why I picked it up. It’s the first book in a series. Flavia is bratty, high-handed, precocious and terribly intelligent. The kind of kid you want to smack sometimes. But she’s wonderful too.

      And it’s set in the English countryside in the 1950s, so it’s all bucolic charm. She lives in this big pile of a noble house that’s going bankrupt, along with her dad (a retired colonel) and two older sisters. Think Downton Abbey mashed up with Eloise, with Flavia being a slightly older Eloise. And the house being a rundown Downton. Fun!! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

