Lazy Sunday: Chicken sopas* for the soul

Image

I was in a lazy mood after being out two days celebrating Chinese New Year, so I ended up puttering around the house, doing the chores that I always end up putting off because they’re so tedious. Wasn’t even in the mood to think up of something complicated to cook. The drawback about living alone (essentially) is that it’s always difficult for me to estimate how much food to buy or make. I always end up buying more than I could consume so there’s always leftovers in the fridge. Today, there was some leftover roast chicken. I had pasta and there were vegetables in the freezer, essentially the ingredients for no-fuss chicken sopas (soup), the perfect weekend comfort food.

Easy-peasy chicken sopas for the soul

Ingredients:

2 teaspoons oil
1 garlic clove, crushed
1 medium onion, chopped
1 cup vegetables (e.g., carrots, peas and broccolli, corn)
1 cup leftover chicken, flaked. Keep the bones to add flavor to the soup. (Of course, you can also use raw chicken. Just boil it first to make chicken stock, which you can use as soup later)
1 1/2 cups pasta of your choice (I used gnocchetti, but you can use shell, elbow macaroni, even spaghetti, just break them into smaller pieces)
1 liter or more chicken stock
All purpose seasoning
Salt and pepper to taste

Milk or all-purpose cream (optional)
Cheese (optional)
Chilli flakes or black/white pepper (optional)

1. In a deep pan, heat oil and saute garlic and onion, until onion is soft.
2. Add the vegetables, and stir until a bit soft.
3. Add chicken, all the while stirring constantly.
4. Add salt and seasoning. Cover pan to let the flavors mix. About five minutes.
5. Add the pasta and combine with vegetables and chicken, stirring constantly.
6. Add the chicken broth. Season with salt and pepper and all-purpose seasoning.
7. Cover until pasta and vegetables are cooked. Add more chicken stock if needed.
8. Add milk or cream, if you want. (I usually prefer it without milk, but sometimes I will add some to bring the flavors together.)
9. Ladle soup in bowl and add cheese (like parmesan) and chilli flakes/black or white pepper (I like my soup to have a bit of bite).
10. Enjoy!

Published by

pinxwitch

My name is Terrie. I write for a living and blog for pleasure. Some days, I get up in the morning and know precisely what kind of day it is. At other times, I get knocked over for a loop. People seem to like confiding in me. When I was younger, I thought I knew everything and can tell you what you need to do if you ask me. Now that I'm older, I realize I don't know anything. That's been my motivation for the blog and for writing. To figure out the unknown and unknowable.

Leave a Reply

