Midweek break: Clap along if you’re happy

Citizens of Tacloban and environs sing and dance to Pharell’s “Happy”. Got this vid from a friend who posted it on Facebook, and I loved it so much decided to post it here as well. This made me smile and the day brighter. Maybe because things happen so quickly in the Philippines — a situation can go from bad to worse in an instant, or can turn the other way and become a celebration — or we’re just so used to things not going our way, devastating natural disasters, venal politicians, stupid laws, widespread poverty, are just some of things that come to mind, that we have a deeper wellspring of goodwill, humor and positivity to draw from. So God bless the people featured here for being able to smile and, yes, look at the positive side even if there is devastation all around. Best coping mechanism ever.

Published by

pinxwitch

My name is Terrie. I write for a living and blog for pleasure. Some days, I get up in the morning and know precisely what kind of day it is. At other times, I get knocked over for a loop. People seem to like confiding in me. When I was younger, I thought I knew everything and can tell you what you need to do if you ask me. Now that I'm older, I realize I don't know anything. That's been my motivation for the blog and for writing. To figure out the unknown and unknowable.

2 thoughts on “Midweek break: Clap along if you’re happy”

  1. I love this! For some insane reason, some people (including fellow Pinoys) have criticized us for being able to smile in the wake of tragedy, citing that our coping mechanism is to blame for why things don’t get better. But what do they want us to do?? When we smile (or dance or clap our hands, for that matter), it doesn’t mean that we are completely ok, or that we won’t keep trying to make things better–but it does mean that we are trying to make the best of our situation. That in spite of everything, there is still always a reason to be happy. And isn’t that what really matters? 🙂

    Like

    1. I totally agree! My mom has this innate ability to just smile and laugh at the bad stuff but as she says, “What else can we do? It’s still the same situation whether we laugh or cry about it, so might as well laugh.” Which I think is very Pinoy. And considering the stuff that keeps happening to us, we need our sense of humor and happiness more than ever.

      think other people criticize us because we fail to follow through. We have a good attitude about smiling in the face of disaster but we don’t seem to get serious or make people accountable. We need that attitude too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

