Lunchtime read: The Brightest Star in the Sky

“A cynical type might suggest that it was all too perfect. But a cynical type would be wrong. Matt and Maeve weren’t just acting the part of people who are Very Much In Love. It was the real thing because their heart vibrations were in perfect harmony.

Not everyone knows this but each human heart gives off an electric current that extends outwards from the body to a distance of ten feet. People wonder why they take instant likes and dislikes to people. They assume it’s to do with associations: if they meet a short, mono-browed woman, they remember the time that another short, mono-browed woman had helped them get their hairdryer unstuck from a hedge and cannot help but feel warmly to this new, entirely unconnected, short, mono-browed woman. Or the first man who short-changed them was called Carl and from that day forth all Carls were regarded as suspect. But instant likes or dislikes are also the result of the harmony (or disharmony) of heart currents and Matt’s and Maeve’s hearts Beat as One.” — a supernatural entity (kind still to be determined), The Brightest Star in the Sky by Marian Keyes

Image
Book in selfie so… bookie? 😉

I spend so much time in front of a computer at work and with a mobile phone when I’m not in my cube that I’ve resolved to disengage at least for a few minutes a day. I don’t think it’s healthy that we are all tethered to machines for long periods of time. So I’ve resolved to make lunchtimes meaningful, either by actually walking around because sitting all day is unhealthy in the long run, not to mention hell on the back; or by reading an actual book or magazine. I hurt my back last week so actually walking around the neighborhood is out for now, which leaves me with reading a book — this book. I’ve had this for awhile (a guick glance at the sticker price says that I bought it at Borders Wheelock Place, which has been closed for what, two years? Goodness!) and it’s been languishing in my office cubicle shelf all this time.

This is one of those cold-contact impulsive book purchases I sometimes — ok, usually — make. I haven’t read Keyes ever and thought I’d give her a chance. The cover drew me in because it’s delightfully rom-comish and chicklit-like. I don’t read much chick-lit, preferring my fiction darker, but from time to time I will read a few just to keep my book diet balanced. To my surprise though, this isn’t turning out to be a run-of-the-mill chicklit. There’s the aforementioned supernatural being, who seems to have a mission on earth to help/save one of the people in the apartment building he falls to. He’s invisible but a dog in the building could see him (too early to tell if just this dog) and one of the old women who live in the building can also sense his presence (Why? Too early to tell!)…. I’m only on p12 of it and so far I am liking it. Will report back at the end of it if it’s a worthy first book for a lunchtime read or not.

Published by

pinxwitch

My name is Terrie. I write for a living and blog for pleasure. Some days, I get up in the morning and know precisely what kind of day it is. At other times, I get knocked over for a loop. People seem to like confiding in me. When I was younger, I thought I knew everything and can tell you what you need to do if you ask me. Now that I'm older, I realize I don't know anything. That's been my motivation for the blog and for writing. To figure out the unknown and unknowable.

2 thoughts on “Lunchtime read: The Brightest Star in the Sky”

  1. “Not everyone knows this but each human heart gives off an electric current that extends outwards from the body to a distance of ten feet.”

    This is seriously cool, I didn’t know that!

    Like

    1. I don’t know if it’s actually true though. In the truth of this novel, it probably is. But wouldn’t it be great if it were indeed true? 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

